The twenty-fifth hour (A sonnet on mayflies)

I believe that living more time is better than living for more time, and  to let the mankind feel it, a creature called mayfly or one-day insect is there in the world. It comes for a day, enjoys, dances, mates and dies.

There are fourteen lines in a Shakespearean sonnet. The first twelve lines are divided into three quatrains with four lines each. In the three quatrains the poet establishes a theme and then ends it beautifully in the final two lines, called the couplet. The rhyme scheme of the quatrains is abab cdcd efef. It has 10 syllables in each line. So, here’s my first sonnet!

 

If it comes, let it come before I know

Or Lord, that one hour will stand upon rest.

And I won’t see the rest ones below,

But the one above all will steal my zest

 

Let me not be the slaughterer of thousands,

Bribed and enticed just for the sake of one.

Let me not forget to live the seconds,

Within the ace of the life’s ending run.

 

The ruler of foliage, the holder of seas

Even for a day, yet shall I become

And I’ll let the sparks dwindle with the breeze

That my twenty-fifth hour is yet to come.

 

To witness the world, I came for a day

And my dearest last hour fades me away!

27 thoughts on “The twenty-fifth hour (A sonnet on mayflies)

  1. Good job, Apeksha! Loved the thought of living whatever life offers fully:-) Best wishes!

    On Tue, May 3, 2016 at 9:31 PM, Mined from a Mind wrote:

    > Apeksha Rai posted: “I believe that living more time is better than living > for more time, and to let the mankind feel it, a creature called mayfly or > one-day insect is there in the world. It comes for a day, enjoys, dances, > mates and dies. There are fourteen lines in a Sh” >

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Dear Apeksha, your writing skills are astonishing. Whenever I read your poems, I feel so refreshed. I find myself in a different world, in your world of philosophy. You have done a great job, dear. Please never leave this. I will always be waiting for your new writings. Thank you for taking me to a new world.
    -From one of your friends.

    Liked by 2 people

  3. Hi apeksha rai. The amazing person with amazing skills .
    I just dont know where from you have got that type of mind and nature it is truly amazing . Like its away from this sick world yet being so close to it, you inspire me . You make me happy, you are the best I am glad that you exist. I am glad i opened it , ; basically thankyou for existing. ❤️ I love every bit of it

    Liked by 2 people

  4. My inspiration, another awsm poem!! I’m truly gone into the world of philosophy. This one’s again a superhit!! It was truly enthralling…
    Luvsss uhhss lotss😂😂❤❤❤

    Liked by 2 people

  5. Hello Apeksha! I have been talking today about this generation and how I believe in it. I cited some young people I have interviewed with great talents. As soon as I finished talking about that can you guess the first person I met? A talented young lady called Apeksha Rai. You are wonderful. It will be my joy to interview you some day. Keep shining!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Sir you’re delivering a heart attack! This is too much for me, i’ve just started writing 🙂 🙂
      It will be a pleasure for me sir, i’m ever ready for this chance, I’m glad 🙂 🙂

      Like

  6. Well done! I love sonnets, and the theme of this one is close to my heart – the recognition of life’s impermanence, and the need to make every moment count because you never know how many more moments there will be. Blessings of many more creative moments! H x

    Like

  7. Though not a poet myself, neither an avid reader of poems. But this one is written beautifully. 🙂
    In my whole life I just wrote one. That too, I don’t know how did I write! 😛
    You being an aspiring poet, All the very best! 😀 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

