A fear flows

I know my write-up could’ve been an inspiring one. But I’m sorry that I’ve lost all positivity for a change in my nation. And I also know that when I lose hope, this blogosphere supports me, so I think it’s a wise decision to share this with you…

From the faces peeping through crammed buses

Making some incessant stares,

From the drones of the classic era,

Sounding more vulgar with their voices,

From the brownish mouths spatting out morality

Whispering some cryptic intentions,

From the addicted eyes that light up cigarettes

And attempting to prove your nightmares true,

From the huddles of those lads in streets

Judging and commenting with baseless reasons,

From the expected damnable shouts they make

And innocently observing as you turn back,

From the broken bottles blanketing the roads,

Guiding you to the jaws of suicidal acts

From the arms of nightfalls comforting you,

Yet bearing an unsettling sense within,

From all these peripheries of daily thunders

Flows a fear in the Indian air,

That finds a shore in the feminine hearts,

It freezes her tight and she dwells in numbness,

While the world still plans to set bonfire.

17 thoughts on “A fear flows

  1. Such a strong piece,Apeksha!
    Yes,it’s indeed been very painful to digest all that’s going on and as bloggers we can contribute through our writing to create awareness and this is a brilliant attempt at it. Well done!

    Liked by 3 people

    1. Exactly. So painful and scary for all the women, especially Indians. I myself feel that here on wp, we’re showcasing India’s such bitter truths before non-Indians. That’s a pity. But what to say, sometimes we’re ashamed of being a part of this society.
      And yes, definitely, this is what we bloggers can do at our level.

      Anyways, thanks for reading😊

      Liked by 1 person

  2. There is a delicate beauty in the darkness you expressed. Certainly, your poetic soul sees the light and dark shades of daily life and bow waves of trends, good and bad. You have a gift for writing what your heart feels and your eyes see. But, don’t despair of it, paint it all on your canvas and share what you think is right to share. Keep the rest for when the time is right and let it unfold as it will. That’s how life really is. It unfolds before us and sweeps away the make believe we cloak ourselves in. Be the wind that shreds the cloak, be the light that shines through the inequities. Most of all, be who you really are and write what you see and feel.

    Liked by 2 people

    1. Probably the best set of words a poet can expect to hear about him. I feel that scarcity of words after reading this, that’s honestly, inexpressible. But yes, even in this crisis of expressibilty, I promise to play it right, like you said, by painting my canvas with what always comes to me. And with that last sentence, you managed to minimize the goal of my life, that is, being who I am. I want nothing else.

      Thank you so much for being here and inspiring me to such an extent. It surely boosts up the confidence of beginners like meπŸ˜„

      Liked by 1 person

  3. I’m reading this piece of your poetry so late, and somehow I feel guilty.
    This is accurately described. What actually goes down on the streets when a girl is all alone. Your poetry is obviously very much remarkable and portrays this sad truth of our country. I wish things could get better.
    Well done, girl! πŸ’“

    Liked by 1 person

  4. I’m reading this piece of your poetry so late, and somehow I feel guilty.
    This is accurately described. What actually goes down on the streets when a girl is all alone. Your poetry is obviously very much remarkable and portrays this sad truth of our country. I wish things could get better.
    Well done, girl! πŸ’“

    Like

Leave a Reply

