To a phantasmal face

You’re my dream and my nightmare,

Whose beginning always remains unknown,

Yet it swathes the whole of my mind,

In most of the days, and every night.

I know not whether I need you or not,

For your presence and absence-

Both, so often, irk me equally,

Maybe you’ve some benevolent intentions,

And you want to lift me up from the crowds

Where I hate to stand

And free me from my desolations.

But the more you come near to me,

The more you separate me from the real world

For you are an otherworldly lie,

That has fell apart right before me.

It seems like no real man’s been born like you,

But I’ve been walking down so many lanes,

Only in search of a little of your resemblance

And that ‘little’ resemblance

Is the biggest infidelity to me.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

10 thoughts on “To a phantasmal face

  1. Lovely, as usual. My ‘infidelity’ has been to leave the ‘mountains’ after a short embrace over the past three days so, after writing a loving post, returning to one of my other loves, the Yorkshire Dales.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

